Decisions, decisions

When the message came with the weekly challenge theme of "Bald Head", I wondered how on earth I'd get an entry.  I wandered around town this morning, trying to spot a bald head.  No luck, it was so hot everyone was wearing a hat.  Then I spotted these two quite far ahead of me, picked up my pace, and got close enough to fire off a quick shot while they were looking at the board advertising the offerings at one of the nearby restaurants.  Phew!   A nice bit of rusty public art in there too.
I'm still hoping I might get close enough to a bald eagle.  :)
What a 50th wedding celebration we were at last night!  Ralph and Caroline Grierson, two very accomplished Canadians, sure know how to throw a party!   They have a beautiful rammed earth home on the shores of St. Mary Lake.  Over 150 guests of all ages and backgrounds were well fed, with the meat, salmon and booze provided by the Griersons, and salads, side dishes and desserts brought by guests.  The variety of dishes was amazing, and everything was so delicious - at least everything I sampled was - it was impossible to try everything!  The Jose Sanchez Cuban Party Band played for hours, with Ralph and some other locals joining in the occasional song.  Ralph wrote a special song for Caroline, absolutely beautiful.  I've requested that G write a song for me for our 50th.  He has a few years....
We initially sat with a piano tuner who works at UVIC, and it turned out that he and G knew many of the same people from the Faculty of Ed.  He had to leave to catch a ferry, and we were joined by a couple of late arrivals.  We all had name tags which included our association with the Griersons, and the guy's said, "Best Man".   We started talking about our backgrounds and where we'd worked, and when I said I'd worked with NITEP,  they both nearly jumped out of their chairs!  He said that his brother had worked with NITEP, and when I looked at his name tag and saw his last name, I almost shouted out his brother's name.  Both G and I had worked with him.  Small world.  The best man was a music professor at UVIC, so he and G knew lots of the same people too, and his wife had given some Kodaly method workshops in Prince George with teachers we knew.  Small world!  We had a great time with them.   She was originally from New York (now a Canadian citizen), so of course we had a bit of a political discussion about the upcoming election.  Right on the same wavelength there. 
Ralph played his grand piano near the end of the night, and it was fantastic to hear him play live. 
All in all, a splendid night.  And I had a few one or two G&Ts, a drink I haven't had for many years.   Rather refreshing on a beautiful sunny summer afternoon and evening.  :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.