'Nobody's Home'

Today I went into the city to see an exhibition of photographs by John Maher, called 'Nobody's Home'.

He photographed empty homes and crofts on the western islands of Scotland, many abandoned still containing furniture and possessions of the former occupants.  His photographs are amazing and very moving; I had a sense that I could walk right into these rooms.

As a direct result of this exhibition there is a possibility of the Western Isles housing body, Tighean Innse Gall, in conjunction with the Carnegie Trust, renovating some of them and bringing them back into use.  Wouldn't that be a fine thing?

The exhibition is in the Lighthouse, and while there I visited the permanent Charles Rennie McIntosh exhibition and also climbed the many stairs to the top of the tower he designed.  I have put an extra on taken from the top, as I liked the spiral.

And another extra as I saw the 'Oor Willie' statue in Central Station.  There is an 'Oor Wullie' trail just now in his home town of Dundee, but Glasgow has a few and I liked it.

Another bonus today..... had lunch with Four Story!!!!


Thanks for the stars and hearts, putting this on the Popular pages.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.