A Wave On The Ocean

By Bensholto

Backblipped - Challenge (Imperfection)

Apart from one of my usual efforts to put this into black and white, this photo is untouched. The imperfections of the swirly distorted focus are what you get when you use a little 25mm CCTv F1.4 lens on a camera - in this case, a mirrorless camera/compact system camera.
Only manual focusing can be done; the lens works best when wide open at f1.4; and half the time, whatever you think you might have taken, it isn't apparent until the image is viewed properly.

I love the imperfections of this little lens.

Taken on a day when I wandered round a less popular part of Salford Quays and from nowhere got into a conversation with a roaring drunk fella in his sixties (this was at lunchtime), in a shabby suit, with three teeth in his upper jaw, who was proud to show me his Nikon D40 that he always carries with him, that's in pristine condition, and he also told me about the pristine Nikon D90 he has at home. As well as his thirty year old Hasselblad film camera. He's been taking photos since the sixties.
He offered to buy me a pint, but I'm convinced that if I'd gone with him, I'd still be wandering round Manchester now, drunk and trying to take photos.

So this qualifies for the latest 2012 challenge - Imperfection.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.