Pictorial blethers

By blethers

Kirn shore

A new local view for today's blip, brought on by a car-free walk with a pal. This is taken from the northern end of Kirn, looking along the shore towards the hills. In the middle ground, one of the Western Ferries is just leaving Hunter's Quay, and closer than that, very much foreshortened at this angle, the black shape of the painted rock, known locally - and nowadays controversially - as Jim Crow.

I have to say that I think it's time they painted the beak-shaped end as a beak rather than with red lips and white teeth in the black head - it's surely anachronistic to leave it so ambiguously offensive.

But there I shall let it lie. I'm not going to enter into the sporadic and frankly tiresome correspondence in the local rag, nor am I heading out some dark night with the paint pot. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.