Crispy golden

Worked until 2.30 am, then up again at 10.00 to get my act together for the Music group session. Part of the tradition is that we all bring along a pack of biscuits as a gesture towards the host of the day, and I had tis pack all ready and waiting beside the hall door so I wouldn't forget it. I'd made an arrangement to pick up one of the new guys on the way and bring him along, but he cancelled at the last moment: in his sick bed feeling sorry for himself. I blame the change of plan for forgetting the biscuits, despite everything.

Today's host was our German member. They make a bigger thing of Advent and St Nicholas than of Christmas itself, and he always likes to act as host at this time of year. He spoiled us rotten, with all sorts of treats and a goodie bag for everyone in the audience. It was my turn to take the floor for the final thirty minutes of the session. I chose music by Rimsky-Korsakov, as a belated nod to the fact that this was the Centenary year of his death.

I was a bit late getting over to Carl's because of drinks afterwards and one of the guys forgetting his glasses and my stopping off on the way to return them. We had a bite to eat, went for a few scoops in a local hostelry, and settled down to watch a David Lean film in Carl's Kino (The Sound Barrier or some such, which I wasn't too keen on).

All in all, a good day, and a pleasant break from the hectic work routine.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.