Day 10: Fabulous Florence

I got my wish and we set off (reasonably) early to Florence. D had sorted out a central car park from which we could walk into the centre of the town.
First stop was the Uffizi gallery which had queues of 3 hours. Luckily, if you don't mind paying, there are ways to skip the queues so off we went, straight to the front. The gallery is home to so much amazing art and the hilight was seeing Da Vinci's 'The Annunciation'. Just stunning. Also Botticelli's 'The Birth of Venus'.
So many fantastic sights to see including Ponte Vecchio (where I took the extra of the padlocks) and of course Duomo, Florence's Cathedral. We engineered another queue jump here, much to the children's annoyance as they weren't that keen to look round it.
We discovered a fabulous restaurant; 'Alfredo's' down a side street, for lunch which kept everyone happy.
It was such a brilliant day and I couldn't believe I was actually there. A couple of years ago I was too scared to go more than a couple of hours from home. And here I was in Florence.
The best of days.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.