matipac

By matipac

Empty Valley

For the first time in 20 years I have not bought a season ticket for the Valley this year, as I do not want to line the pockets of an owner who seems determined to asset strip the club (Charlton Athletic) to the point of non-existence. Even with thousands of free tickets, one of which I managed to get my hands on in spite of not being a local resident (although I know a man who is!), the ground looked empty today. The game itself was a 1-1 draw with Northampton Town, not a complete disaster, although with the threadbare squad that has been grudgingly assembled, it' hard to foresee anything other than a long hard struggle against relegation this season. The owner just has to sell up to someone who cares and understands football, otherwise this once proud club is doomed. It's all very sad.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.