Tears of a Clown

A rather bizarre day - even by West Cork standards. As I drove into Bantry someone was hitching - admittedly a rather unusual looking person. Was he a Morris man or a clown? I stopped- you did what, gasped Himself later. Well, he turned out to be a clown, complete with plastic nose (which kept on falling off and roiling around the car), real flowers around his hat and a bunch of plastic flowers which he whipped from behind his back. We had a jolly conversation and I dropped him off in the square where he was going to do a bit of entertaining to keep himself in tobacco and milk.

Next stop the surgery for another B12 injection - the other arm this time. Bounce! Bounce!

Then on to Beach for a visit to Lady's Well for of course, as you will all know, it is the Feast of the Assumption today, when the BVM was assumed into heaven. This little well was looking delightful - the whole area adorned with flowers, a crisp white tablecloth on the old altar ready for an open air mass later on this evening.An elderly chap was there doing the business. When he'd finished we had a chat. He came every year he explained but he did his own thing - 5 Hail Marys and 5 Our Fathers followed by a drink from the well. He gently and curiously inquired what I was up to. Was I English? Was I a Catholic? Did I say prayers? I explained what I was up to and he was astonished but we both agreed that you could take away what you wanted from places like this.

And I've just had a swim, so fine was the day. it was seriously cold but you don't half glow afterwards!

Lovely to have Himself home too :)

Tears of a clown  changed the original, thanks Lovelupins, this seems to suit him better.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.