Day of THE meal

One of the reasons I am in France this week is because my father in law turned 70 in July. There was a plan for a meal to celebrate but it was impossible to coordinate the entire family so his youngest son came out here for a meal a few weeks ago and today we had a meal. He's not done too badly, two meals in what could be a Michelin starred place. It did have a star a while ago I don't know if it still does and it doesn't really make a difference, as the food was much better than last time I visited. Frustratingly it is also a hotel and when I went downstairs to use the loo I happened upon a very inviting, empty spa like swimming pool. I was tempted but as I had no cossie and wasn't a paying guest I thought better of it.

Last night I watched 'The Fall' which is an amazingly colourful and photographic film. This starter dish, featured in my blip, (fried borage leaf!) reminded me of the exquisite colours in the film. The film was recommended to me by a friend. Famous buildings, gardens, landscapes and architectural revelations from all across the world feature heavily. If you look up the trailer on you tube it gives you a good idea.

After the meal I went to a cool shop in Sauveterre de Rouerge which is like a concrete version of eBay. I splashed out on a glass Lalique style opalescent chaffinch which later research confirms is 1930s, a Japanese lacquerware pen box, and a cheap and cheerful, very old wooden box for my tarot cards. The weather is grey and dull today so I spent the afternoon researching my newly acquired items and looking at some art projects online.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.