Return to the North

By Viking

Fairground attraction

It's got to be perfect.....

Sis and I headed to the Lincolnshire show ground today for the 31st annual Steam and traction rally. My 78 year old uncle has been tinkering, building and showing small traction engines for a good number of years now and is only slowing down slightly! This week he has been over in Lincoln at a massive rally (1500 exhibits) The rally included vintage cars and motorbikes as well as stalls selling a number of items related and unrelated to engines!
It really was an amazing day for all who went I imagine and sis and I had a good time. In extras I have put the shot that was going to be my blip right until the very last photo I took! I really liked the effect of the merry-go-round. 
We were going to be meeting up with an old college friend (of 33 years standing) at the rally but a combination of them being late setting off and us running out of steam (pardon the pun) we decided instead to meet up at our old college which is in Lincoln. We had a good old meander down memory lane as we went round the grounds - and my oh my has the college campus changed in 33 years! 
When D and I went there there were only 110 students in each year group and even less PGCE students so maybe 400-450 students max. Now the campus is huge (doubled in size I would guess) and can only imagine how many more students there are. Certainly when we were there it was only a teacher training college, now it is Bishop Grosseteste University, no less!

A grand day out was had. We headed to a pub for tea after a leisurely coffee in the college cafe and then popped in to my aunts on the way home.
Now well and truly buggered!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.