Was It Really So Long Ago

By LincolnGreen

An Afternoon in the Sun

Beloved announced the need to secure presents for young Master H's forthcoming birthday next month and set off in the car with Misses I & C. This left Master H and myself at home with a couple of hours to spare. I was resting on the sofa, only a couple of minutes after having bid the girls farewell, when I heard Master H burst into tears at the opposite end of the house. I found him standing on a chair in front of the window overlooking the driveway, and on it beloved's car fast disappearing into the distance. Whether he was waving them off (he wasn't seen I later found out) or hadn't appreciated they were all leaving, I can't be certain. I offered a visit to the play park by way of consolation and with some trepidation, headed in the direction of the playing fields. Our last visit was less than successful, finding as we did that the play area was closed due to some mindless soul having vandalised it.

Today though, we happily found HMS Lawford fully restored and in operation. Master H wasted no time in making full use of it. After a scenic route to the church to check on my grandparents grave and a quick clean, we were back for a final go on the swings before home and dinner. 

A shade under 3 ¼ miles walked, a clean gravestone and a contented if slightly weary boy, made a complete afternoon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.