TomSean

By TomSean

Harvest dripping slowly

It's not good weather for harvesting around Co Cork this year and it looks like the volume of the corn harvest is low as well. That's not surprising given the amount of rain and cold we had in the "spring"!
I stepped into a field of ripe oats today and those few footsteps were like a "back to the future" experience. I was immediately back in my mind watching a reaper and binder going up and down the field shedding its sheaves for us to stand in stooks. 
Nostalgia tends to delete the hardships of life but I have to admit that I prefer the pace at which people lived then.
Automation, advances in machinery and technology were all supposed to make life less hassled but I'm not sure that the promise has been delivered. At least for these few moments among the drooping ears of oats there was peace.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.