Kit

My kit for tomorrow; ice axe, crampons, helmet, and the boots I prefer to use in snow and ice, and with crampons.

I still have a few things to add and all going well I'll be sorted before enjoying a bit of roast Wallaby (meaning the All Blacks beating the Aussie team called the Wallabies, least anyone take that literally ;-).

This morning's run took place in shocking conditions - horizontal rain, surface flooding in places and wind. It was cold too but ok once you got going, kept the hood on your jacket up and pulled your sleeves down over your gloves. You get the picture.

Tomorrow isn't shaping up to be a classic. The wind will dictate everything so we'll head for a reasonably sheltered valley and ridge. We're also aware of the avalanche risk and how much snow we encounter will be part of our decision making too. We know it will be too windy to get to the summit of Castle Hill Peak.

The rain has stopped and my washing is dancing around in the fresh southerly. I'm bracing myself for a trip to the supermarket and then I'll drop off a bacon and egg pie to my friend who is unwell.

And that should pretty much take care of Saturday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.