horns of wilmington's cow

By anth

Making the Blues

A day of postponement. Mel's Christmas lunch yesterday, followed by meeting me and some friends for a drink, lead to the hangover from hell today, so the planned drive through to Rutherglen was delayed, and instead I got on with the chicken run, while Mel slept.

I'm glad I did actually, I'd promised to get up the whole frame by the end of tomorrow, and it might have been a tall order in one day. Once that's done I can think about the roof, and the table for the chicken house, plus perches.

If you're wondering about the blue (the sections of frame are hanging there to dry), the run is going to run off the side of the shed, and it was already blue when we moved in, and it just kinda fits bringing a bit of colour to the back of the garden. And I've found you can get solar powered PIR security lights as well, which will be added, given it'll be a little out of range of the two floodlights off the back of the house.

I like just being able to get on with these things, and forget about being livid yesterday evening with some work colleagues. Long story, another time maybe (yep, I'm passing up the opportunity to rant - the other by-product of this diy being I'm now quite physically shattered and relaxed and just enjoying a nice glass of wine).

p.s. three bikes juuuust in shot. It's actually quite cramped working in there just now - there are 6 not in shot...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.