The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Yellow Teddy and the BIG disaster

This is Yellow Teddy. He is approximately 47 years old. The reason he looks so sad is:

1. He has been shut inside a cardboard box for around nine years
2. He has no ears, so he never hears any good news
3. He has a teddy sister, with ears, in Lancashire, but they never meet up these days

While taking down a suitcase from the wardrobe today , I noticed a big storage box and wondered if my ted was in there. I'd seen the 'Ted" adverts on the buses, and started wondering about my old yellow teddy.

There he was, undamaged by cobwebs, so I set him up eagerly for some shots against the window. Then I thought I could improve on them by getting the mini-tripod/mic stand that CleanSteve had given me.

It's a bit wobbly, and somehow, between the tripod and my hand and not wearing the wrist strap, I DROPPED my camera. Now all I get is purple, or blackness on screen. The shots are even worse, Yes, I know...I do have a problem that affects my motor co-ordination and planning (it's called dyspraxia) so this is not the first accident that I have had in my life, but it is one of the more expensive ones. I have an indestructible phone, so perhaps I'd better look for the compact camera version!

CleanSteve has come up with some ideas as to what to do in the meantime for taking shots, and I have remembered my savings in the good old Credit Union emergency fund, but...

I am gutted.
Done it. Again.

My last camera, a Sony Cybershot, got sand in the lens 3 years ago after I stupidly took someone else's advice about taking it to the beach.

There's no point in rushing to buy a camera on Amazon prime, just because we leave for the Isle of Wight tomorrow evening. I want to buy the right one! I might just be able to get hold of another Nikon Coolpix, same model as this, temporarily, but would be looking to upgrade eventually, ,not necessarily to a Nikon compact. One thing is for sure, I won't be taking the iPad camera around the Island, dropping it down gorges or chines...



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.