Beside the cenotaph

The body clock had me awake and out of bed before the sun had risen. The day was cloudy and looking like rain so I vacillated for a while before heading off on my bike. Thought I might get something worth looking at from by the Auckland Museum. And if not, I hoped to get a photo of another volcano; Ohinerangi (Mount Hobson). I thought I should be able to see it from beside the museum on it's hill. The museum is built on the eastern and highest part of the tuff ring surrounding the large explosion crater from what is known only as the Domain Volcano. This photo from in front of the museum looking east-north-east, is from the tuff ring of the old volcano. 

Before heading back home, I went to the southern end of the museum, still on the tuff ring, and was able to sneak a look at Ohinerangi. The photo I took of it, was to be added as an extra; problems intervened.

We then drove north, and were joined for lunch by my daughters and the Auckland grandsons to mark father's day; actually today rather than Saturday.

I am posting this on Sunday, as the telephone connection at the Beachhouse was off again. I was unable to use my iPad as it wouldn't take the photos off my SD card. The line people came this morning and fixed the connection, and all is sweet again. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.