THE MORNING AFTER THE NIGHT BEFORE

Last night we had a lovely time celebrating Martyn & Dawn’s Silver Wedding Anniversary at Lydiard House Conference Centre, next door to Lydiard House, a beautiful manor house at Lydiard Tregoze, just outside Swindon.  

Family and friends came to share the happy occasion, some of whom hadn’t seen each other for many years - and as I had taken the wedding album I had made 25 years ago, there were many exclamations of surprise and delight!

The food was fantastic, the disco was good and I’m told the champagne wasn’t bad either.  We danced or sat and chatted until the wee small hours, then some of us just walked along the corridor to bed, while others had to drive home.

Everyone seemed to enjoy the occasion and several of us met for breakfast at 9.00 a.m., but I had already been for a walk round the grounds of the park before 7 a.m.  Although it was a grey morning, it was good to hear the birds singing and to watch the swans gliding on the lake and the squirrels scurrying around.  I thought I might be on my own, but there were several people already up and walking their dogs.  However, it did give me time to contemplate and to come to gradually.  I hadn’t drunk any alcohol, so fortunately, I didn’t have a thick head, but I think it took some of our group rather longer to surface!

The only photograph not taken today is the one of Mr. HCB and me with our two grandchildren, but it was taken just after 11 p.m. last night, so I hope it will be allowed on this special occasion.

Thank you Martyn and Dawn for a lovely evening - we pray you will have many more happy years together and we hope you have a great time on your trip to Las Vegas, Los Angeles and San Francisco - we’re sure that Martyn will enjoy driving the Ford Mustang convertible and you will have lots to tell when you get back!

“A good marriage 
     is one which allows for change 
          and growth in the individuals 
               and in the way they express their love. ” 
Pearl S. Buck

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.