Forest Red Tailed Black Cockatoo

I was thrilled to see this Forest Red Tailed Black Cockatoo today. It's a threatened species as we've managed to destroy most of its breeding habitat over the last 100 years. Very sad.

They have a large beak and quite beautiful plumage. I've put in an extra which shows the red tail feathers.

I initially didn't see it but as we stood under this big tree some of the nuts hit me on the head and then I realised that it was probably a cockatoo and started looking to see what I could find. It didn't hang around when it realised I was watching, I managed 5 shots and then it took off!

Here's a link with more info if you're interested....
http://museum.wa.gov.au/explore/online-exhibitions/cockatoo-care/forest-red-tailed-black-cockatoo

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.