Mr John

By MrJohn

Green .....

..... and plesant land.

This evening I've been on a Run with the Harriers over Addingham moorside. I wore road running trainers, which was a bit of a mistake as the moor and tracks were a lot wetter than I expected, meaning I couldn't get a grip and was slipping all over the place. Despite the tough going I enjoyed the run. The majority of the run could be classed as fell running, but the last couple of miles was on road with a sprint finish on the last mile ( I only managed a 6.07 pace as my legs were dead from the off road running ) I didn't measure the run, but in total I'd guess it was around 8 or 9 miles.

There were a few of the younger up and coming harriers in the group tonight ( less than half my age.... I feel old now ) and it was great to see their enthusiasm and joy of the sport of fell running, not to mention their energy and speed. It's no wonder this part of Yorkshire is producing so many gold medal winning Olympians. The terrain here is always a challenge, but then that's half the fun.

I'd taken a few photos on the run and although some were very scenic, I felt they may have been a bit too similar to others I have blipped in the past. The choice of photo was a close call between one of the group running along the moor with a stone outcrop next to them with a Union flag aloft it, or this photo I took of the lovely sky over the park as I ran down to the club this evening ( which although it looks enhanced, isn't. It's straight from the camera with no tweeking at all ). Either of the photos could have had this title, So todays blip is a .....


..... Green and plesant land.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.