MM137, Memorable Moments

I'm blessed with a good memory, (a data base surpassing the latest IT has to offer).
Today's blip is a WW1 rocket fuze. All the details are still to be read .Why would I own such ?
Some years ago I visited Ypres in Belgium, hired a car and drove to Essex Farm Cemetery where my mother's father is buried. It was so moving to visit his grave & place a wreath. A war graves tour bus arrived & the leader spoke to me.On hearing about my special visit he asked me to read the most famous poem by the Canadian John McCrae.(Essex Farm is also a memorial to him). Reading those words we know so well was the most emotional experience of my life and very difficult .With air  so still , and a group of strangers who shared the wreath laying with me , it had to be done. He died so young my mother could not recall him She never saw his grave so it was a  very memorable day.The tour left and I had time to reflect with my Grandfather. After saying a goodbye  I drove off. Later stopping by a shop which sold safe memorabilia ('items from the annual iron harvest) To this date it still goes on !  I bought this legally as a paper weight and memory.Each time I see it that day comes back. Too many died .From Britain, the Commonwealth. France, Belgium, Germany. Following orders. If weapons continue to be big business we have learned nothing from the memory of that terrible war. Weapons  line the pockets of the very wealthy and create division plus misery. I also visited  Langemark  (a German cemetary ) Another memory. Let's insist no more war.Thanks to Ingeborg who is hosting this challenge .
The Strangest Dream
Flanders Fields

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.