A Letter, Fond Memories - Family History

The letter reads........

Tuesday

Dear Bubs,
I guess I am the first to send you a letter you wee darling, how we three old Aunties are longing to see you, so be sure and come back with Grandma. If mum won't come just play up and cry yourself sick, then she will not like staying alone and will fetch you to us. Daddy will be away such a lot now, you may as well both come and see us all, once he has seen you and mummy I am sure he will be pleased to let you have a holiday, you both need one. And when you do come you are not to sleep day and night like you do now, as Auntie must nurse you each morning and night when home from work, so if you are too good I will just have to pinch you and make you cry, then I will be allowed to pick you up - get me.

Uncle Jim has made your Christening cake it weights 6 1/2 lbs and is a wedding mixture, a beauty, so if you don't come Auntie might use it for a wedding instead. It isn't iced yet, will do that when needed, if Daddy can't come through I expect you will have to take it back with you as he will have to be there when you get christened, we will see.

Uncle says if you are fat and have a double chin, you are like me.
Send us your name,
Auntie Nan

Addressed to
Master Baby Cleary
C/- Mum and Dad

Dated
8th November 1932

A precious letter - the baby is my father, written by a dear Aunt who I remember in her older days, kind, gentle, with a sense of humour. We would make the long trip from Whakatane over the Kiamais to Matamata to visit her and her hard of hearing sister Aunt Nell, they lived side by side, sometimes getting on and sometimes not. My Grandfather was a drover moving cattle from Whakatane and Gisborne via the coast, few roads back then, he would be away for months on end, living under the stars, cooking on open fires on the beach in all kinds of weather - a hard life. My father was an only child and looked after his mother as he grew up, milking the family cow before heading off to school was one of his many chores.

Treasures from days gone by, fond memories with a little humour - a touch of family history for my rainy day blip.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.