TucsonJim

By BikerJim

~Cordia Parvifolia~

~The Little-Leaf Cordia Flower~

I have several of these scrubs planted near my house, such refreshing little flowers that are about an inch across. As with a lot of these desert flowers they bloom for a day only, then are quickly replaced by others. This plant usually flowers in groups 5 to 8 blooms in a bunch. But this little guy decided to go it alone, maybe a better chance for a bee to take advantage of its pollen. I don't think so, just a freak of nature. But still affording me a photographic opportunity with a unique perspective.

During the spring and the monsoon season there is a constant display going on around my house, it's so wonderful to go out early in the morning and see what's new in the flower department. I do need to find out what the procreative advantages are to a plant or cacti that puts up a flower for a brief 12 hour period, be it day or night. I wonder why? The world is so full of wonder, why is this and what is that? Part of the fun of living life is finding the answers or at least thinking about "Why, for what purpose is this or that?"

I like thinking, but sometimes I don't do it as well as it should be done.
Why is that? ;o)

See ya tomorrow, TucsonJim

Bigger Is Better

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.