The Way I See Things

By JDO

Marbled

This is beautiful, don't you think? The markings are really exquisite when you get up close.

What?? Where's everybody gone...?

So yes, we're back to the autumn, when I post photos of big fat garden spiders, and all the arachnophobes shriek and run away. Actually, this one wasn't big or fat - I only noticed it because I was stalking a tiny Platycheirus hoverfly and had my head more or less inside the rosemary where it has strung its web. It's working on its size though: when I first spotted it, it was eating what might once have been a small beetle, but it then dropped its prey - I'm not sure whether that was because I startled it, or because it had already eaten all the good bits and was essentially throwing the exoskeleton over its shoulder into the fireplace.

Incidentally, I used to be terrified of spiders myself. But knowing this response to be entirely unreasonable (living as I do in England, where there are no dangerous spiders outside of zoos, and the odd supermarket bunch of bananas), when I had children I decided that I was not going to pass on my irrationality to them. So my mantra became "Spiders are good, because they eat horrid flies. We like spiders." And over time - who would have thought? - this positive thinking worked on me (though not on Child One, who always was supremely contra-suggestive). So now, though I wouldn't go so far as to pick one up, I'm quite happy to stick a large lens in its face.

Many thanks to dbifulco for hosting Tiny Tuesday this month. I hope she doesn't mind spiders!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.