Something In the Air

Bigger Bonking Butterflies!

Another early blip session today around the paddock after feeding Tom his 'breakfast'. With the showjumping individual final due on at mid-day, then needing later to get myself and my stuff sorted for Greenwich Park tomorrow, I figured this may be my only chance to have a blip search today. I was hoping there may be one or two Commas about - alas I saw few butterflies at all. But glancing down at the side of the bramble bush I spotted these 2 Gatekeepers - and thought "Ermmmm - are they doing what I think they are?"
How could I resist blipping that?! I may have had a few shots of single Gatekeepers so far, but not 2 of them doing this! LOL

There must be something in the air, as I almost had a blip MUCH earlier. Despite being very tired last night and intending to get to bed earlyish (earlyish for me anyway, especially as I don't have to get up for work this week!) , I was otherwise distracted and ended up going upstairs later than I'd meant to. Ooops! But just as I was about to head up, I popped outside to leave out some milk bottles and noticed something - and thought to myself "Ah, so THAT'S what snails do at night"!

When I visited the thistle patch this morning there were a few of the damselflies which I blipped yesterday. So I managed to get some more shots. I really love THIS ONE and prefer it to yesterday's blip! Wish I could have taken that shot yesterday ......

I also took what must be my best shot yet of a Hoverfly, Volucella pellucens

I was really happy with this shot of a metallic green fly.

So far at the Olympics GB have taken the Eventing team silver, the Showjumping team gold, and the Dressage team gold. I'm gutted that Nick Skelton had 4 faults in the jump-off for the individual medals this afternoon, and thus finished without a medal of any kind in that competition. So now I'm praying that Carl Hester or Charlotte Dujardin can make it one more in the dressage tomorrow. The way our equestrian team have performed in this Olympics I think there must be something in the air at Greenwich Park too!

A music link: A track from the 60s I've always loved by Thunderclap Newman.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.