It's a Geeks Life

By geekmeek

White Water Fun

Zipped into Kingston today to do some errands and hopefully some photo's.
There is a wonderful water feature in the square and as I wandered in I could hear the screams of the children playing. This is the scene I faced.

The children were completely soaked and running in and out as the water shot up out of the ground. Also they (the older boys) were trying to redirect the sprays at the adults and get them wet! What a wonderful scene.

So we have a dilemma, I as a lone adult with a camera could look suspicious taking shots of children, but this is a scene I didn't want to miss as the joy and fun was filling the air. I take the opinion that if you think that you are doing wrong, you will appear that way. I also carry business cards and evidence that I am a street photographer in case I need them. So I just sat on a bench and got on with the shots and just not being overly obvious. I didn't dash off quickly after either.

This is my favourite shot of the bunch. In my day it was a blowup plastic paddling pool that rarely got used because it had a leak or there was a water shortage.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.