Explore, Dream, Discover

By Snowcycle

The Big Belter Start (extra 112 Miles Later)

I signed up for this late last year as it didn't clash with any ride. So I am up at 3am having breakfast, a quick shave and shower and I am out of the house just after 3:35. It doesn't take very long to get to Ingliston. My recce was successful. Bike wropped in bubble wrap, and seated on the busw I waited until Harthill to have my second breakfast.

Cool at the start, 10°C, at Glasgow Green. We're there quite early, so I have time to have a coffee. The whole ride was incredibly breezy. The climbs out from Glasgow, Galston, Dungavel and Glespin very testing because of the strong wind, but not as bad a ToB.

Thankfully, Carmichael Hill is too steep, so it is just the hill we need to tackle, and we're protected from the wind there. From there, there's a nice fast descent, and then along an A road with a furious side wind.

Thankfully, from Thankerton, the wind is behind us. There's a slightly more difficult than usual climb to Quothquan, we have done about 80 miles at this point. Once on the A70n at Carnwath, we're motoring in to Edinburgh.

This year, the finish is also at Ingliston, so jest before the Edinburgh border, we turn down Leyden Rd. A descent, scary at the best of times, is mode more interesting by the wind. The timing section finishes here.

The last five miles are a doddle. Just after Newbridge, the route merges with the Classic and Wee Jaunt rides and the finish line.

The extra photo 1 was taken 112 miles later at the finish. My official time is 06:02:11. Pretty impressed. As I was by the queue for coffee (Extra 2) ;-)

A quick bite to eat, then home. A dozy afternoon. Good job I have Monday and Tuesday off.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.