Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Bright and cheerful

Adam arrived home in the early hours of this morning and he really enjoyed his week of ski training. When he gets back to university he will hopefully continue to train until the varsity competition in December by going to ski at the indoor snow dome at Milton Keynes every week, if his busy timetable allows it.

Last night Gavin, Thomas and I watched The Martian on Thomas' recommendation - he had already seen it but did not mind watching it again. It is a wonderful film and I really enjoyed it, I thought it would be boring as everyone knows its about a guy who gets left behind on Mars and grows potatoes to survive - but it is a whole lot more than that, one of those joyous movies about the strength of the human spirit.

In the space of four weeks we have three birthdays and one wedding anniversary in our family. Gavin's birthday is only on the 25th of this month but as he will be away for work at that time, and as today is the last time the family will all be together until the Christmas holidays, we decided to have his birthday lunch today at a local pub gastro pub - very good it was too!

I had a very sad phone call to my mother who is getting worse and weaker by the day. I may have to go see her before our planned trip in 4 weeks time. These flowers were given to me by Gavin last weekend for our anniversary and they are still looking good - I was in need of some brightness and cheering up, so they are my blip today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.