The Oldest Pub in England.

Another trip to the dentist today took me to St Albans. After an age in the dentists chair I was left with a sore mouth and splitting headache. I took a short walk around town before driving home.

This pub Ye Olde Fighting Cocks is in Verulamium park down by the lake. It used to have a sign saying Rebuilt after the flood. It has a large octagonal structure which was the original cockpit, I guess the other structures have been added over the centuries. It was moved to this site in 1539 after Henry VIII ordered the dissolution of the monasteries. The foundations however date back to 793.

According to Wikipedia it's in the Guinness Book of Records as the oldest pub in England. There are however several other claimants.

I'm sure I have a photograph of this building taken on my old Kodak box brownie somewhere in my albums.

The problem photographing this building is the lack of space surrounding it. This image is stitched together from three shots, something I would never have been able to do before the digital age.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.