Baxter's Pond

I've tried several times to blip this small but magical pond in St Ives Estate but without success. Having set out early this morning to walk to Bingley for the shopping, I found that this time of day it is at its best. St Ives is a typical Victorian estate and therefore overrun with rhododendrons. Jane will set me right on this, but I am pretty sure it is named after one of her relatives who, in recent years, was instrumental in recovering it and restoring it to its former glory when Victorian ladies would walk the trails and admire the streams, falls and plant life whilst the under classes were kept outside behind high walls!

I could walk the route through the estate to Bingley blindfolded so I was surprised this morning when, away in my head, the usual path was blocked. I wondered if I had accidentally taken a side route but no, a significant branch had come down across the trail. I checked to see there was no one under it!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.