analogconvert13

By analogconvert13

Inlay Scroll. Leitz Elmar-V 65mm, Bellows

While I've been absent from Blip for all these weeks, I have not been idle:  Now that I have a hand-tools-only workshop available,  I am completing a project begun in 1999.    Back then, I made a copy of the 1728 Christian Zell harpsichord, the original of which resides in Hamburg, where it was created.  My copy is the only one of our instruments not to have flown the coop.  My Editor and I call her "Zellda", and she graces our living room.  Back then, I ran out of time to finish the lock board; the matching panel which slots into the casework to seal the instrument from dust, and protect the keyboards.  This has been my project.  Back then, I set aside the walnut burl and crossbanding which would exactly match with that on the case. Also the inlay, made back then in my shop: cross-grained Macassar ebony  with holly stringing.  Here is a plane shaving almost too delicate to touch, born as I flushed the inlay into the burl panel.  All will be revealed soon!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.