TucsonJim

By BikerJim

~Arizona Nightfall~

~Pusch Ridge Sunset~

Had to get up early again, had a very busy day ahead of me.
Managed to catch a few absolutely beautiful sunrise photographs.
But in the end I decided not to use them for my image of the day.
The main piece of business was going to be working at church.
I have mentioned before that I am the Art Director at St. Catalina.
Now this is a title that is far more hyperbole than real substance.
During the church year there are various celebrations and seasons.
It is my job to design art work for the walls, on each side of the alter.
A theme is chosen according to the event that is being observed.
I will create line drawing that is then transformed into a silhouette.
I have a very talented helper that then cuts the silhouette shapes.
We generally use black construction paper to create these works.
The designs can range from 3 feet to 8 feet tall and just as wide.
Some of them are quite complicated, so a good cutter is important.
Then we install the work on both walls using double sided tape.
The finished wall art resembles a wrought iron sculptured design.
We get a lot of good words and smiles from grateful parishioners.
Very rewarding work, even though some are only up for one day!
Oh, by the way, I did managed to capture a nice sunset tonight.

Hope you all had a wonderful weekend.
Thanks for stopping in and looking.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.