Return to the North

By Viking

Everything for the photo!

The weather forecast for the weekend was good today, rubbish tomorrow, so TeeJay and I decided to head for one of our favourite spots on the West Coast. We walked up to the lighthouse at Cape Foulwind (great name for a place, don't you think? ) then we headed to our favourite restaurant -The Bay House at Tauranga Bay.
We had just sat down and ordered when we spotted an old friend and her daughter, who had obviously had the same bright idea. We sat for over two hours catching up on old times and enjoying the view from The Bay House, which is second to none on the West Coast.
We said goodbye to T and M and headed up to take probably 200 shots of fantastic waves crashing against the rocks. Two of these shots very nearly made blip but.....

Although this shot shows just how dirty my polariser had gotten with the sand, it really does sum up the day. Glorious weather, fab seas and..... soaking wet bloody feet!
I had clambered down at Carters Beach to get a shot of the driftwood with the beautiful sky behind. With camera attached to a tripod I took lots of shots of slow shutter waves. Then I spotted this wee piece of driftwood which was in the wet sand. NOTE TO SELF - Wet sand usually means the seas been near it!!!!!!! So on the third or forth shot - Yep you've guessed it.... the sea came and covered the driftwood again - and me!!!! Thankfully I had the presence of mind to pick camera, tripod and myself up and run - alas the trainers, socks and 5 inches of my jeans weren't so lucky.

TeeJay of course was wetting herself laughing! and I had a very very soggy 1 1/2 hour drive home

Ah but a good day had by all

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.