1day>1week>1month>1year

By cowgirl

Behind bars

Yesterday afternoon the filly foals were taken off their mum's and put in a stable together. For their own safety, both the top and bottom of the door has to be kept shut, so that neither of them tries to jump out.

There are two windows like this one though, so they have some light and can see the outside world whilst they bond and forget about their mums.

It's not a day anyone looks forward to, but it went very well. Both mares and foals are taken to the stable, but only the foals are lead in. Once the doors are shut, the mares are returned to their stables and fed.

As I'm back blipping I can report that I've heard each mare whinny once for their babies. On the whole, everyone is quite settled and they were probably ready to be split up, the mum's in particular. I'm pretty certain I saw one of them heave a sigh of relief!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.