Sums Up the Day

Eighteen ToGs turned up for the #WorldWidePhotoWalk at Shardlow this afternoon, despite pouring rain. Scott Kelby was encouraging photographers all over the world to take part in a photo walk today, to promote a feeling of community and to raise money for a charity in Kenya called 'Springs of Hope Orphanage.'

We ambled through the village finding the warehouses that line the Trent and Mersey Canal, which once made Shardlow a major inland port on the River Trent.

There was a confrontation with a woman with coloured hair who I think we must have disturbed in flagrante. Shouting abuse, she accused us of invading her private property by taking photos without once asking what we were actually doing. I, for one, was trying to focus on a cobweb.

I can't be doing with aggression like that so I'm afraid I answered in kind. She came chasing after us through the boatyard while we had strolled through an alley. We weren't even allowed to take photos of the gates of the boatyard. Two members of the party were successful in getting her to calm down. Eventually, she even agreed we could return to take photos in the boatyard once it was open, but I don't think I shall be welcome.

She claimed she was a photographer. Naturally, I asked the name of her website. She stared at me, and called me 'Mrs SmartAss.' There you go.

Fortunately, the rest of the walk passed without further incident. The rain was incessant. I thought this gushing drainpipe summed it up.

Back to the Clock Warehouse to find that the boiler was kaput so no possibility of hot chocolate or coffee. I settled for a mug of tea and a Jura.

Paramo jackets are supposed to be weatherproof. Mine isn't. But all in all, I didn't get TOO wet.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.