Endlessly Amusing

One young hungry squirrel can take down a small stand of sunflowers very quickly. I watched this guy stuff himself silly this afternoon. It's amazing how much weight those slender stalks can hold, even as they sway under his antics. He hangs securely by his back legs, sometimes using a front foot for support as well, but often grabbing the flower head in two hands, the better to remove the seeds. Sometimes he breaks off a whole hunk, like honeycomb, and scampers to a level perch to eat, but mostly he's upside down and sideways, busy and agile.

Morning was spent on a ladder, trying to trim back some of the monster climbing rose that spans the space between the carport and the storage shed. I think I've done my ladder work for the year; there is a point after which I get too queasy to go up again, and I'm there. My shins are red from pushing against the rungs. Let's say I'm not as limber as the squirrel. I think it's time to bring in some reinforcements to finish the job. 

(No, it's not one of the squirrel babies. Just random neighborhood wildlife.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.