Red Squirrel

By JJRW

You Put Your Left Leg In .....

... your left leg out ... then the next one .... then the next one ... then the next one .... lol

LARGER.

Today's been rather windy. Plus I celebrated our Olympic equestrian victories just a bit too much last night - quite a bit too much in fact and until rather late! Despite sleeping like a log when I did get to bed I woke up at 5 past 8, couldn't get back to sleep and got up at 8.30 - so had only about 6 hours sleep, the second time that's happened this week. I'm on leave from work, and this really isn't fair! Anyway, due to the windy conditions and my feeling a little fragile this morning, I didn't spend long blip hunting after I'd fed Tom. I did find a rather stunning looking beetle, orange-red with black and irridescent in the sun, it was lovely. Despite it being very small, and pushing my camera's macro to its limits even without the wind, I tried quite a few shots of it. Alas they weren't of blip quality.
Late this afternoon I took some macros of the inside of a Foxglove bloom. On uploading them I realised that on one of them I'd also caught a small fly deep inside the flower - that was going to be my blip. But then as I was coming back indoors I saw this Harvestman spider on the cottage wall by the door. I loved the way it had just the one leg stretched right out as if it was doing the Hokey Cokey and decided I really must take some shots. It's ended up as my blip.

Though it's not the greatest quality shot, I wanted to include a link to the irridescent Beetle. So here it is - an amazing colour.

Here's the Foxglove with fly.

One good thing - on my Buddleia today I finally saw my first Peacock butterfly of this year. Yay! Unfortunately it was too high up to get a shot of it even if it hadn't been so windy. But now I've seen one I'm hoping it or it's relatives will be back when there's less wind. I live in hope ....


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.