A family story....

The MM challenge today is roots and I've chosen to blip a couple of pages from a scrapbook I made using old family photos -  the oldest being taken around 1840.  My mother had been custodian of them until her death some years ago when I took them over, and fortunately she had been very good at annotating the photos which made the task of collating them that much easier.  The family were Irish immigrants who had settled in Batley during the late 1840s, and they and the large Irish community in which they lived were extremely proud when soon after the 1914-18 war Great Uncle John Eddie went into local politics and later became  Mayor and  Alderman of the town.

The photos are a great link to the past and to my roots, and since making the scrapbook I've reproduced it using software which has meant I've been able to give my daughters a copy each, which I hope will be as meaningful to them as it is to me.

Thank you Dollykgray for hosting MM.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.