Ash Drawer

This is the culmination of my weekends efforts. Amongst other things. The stove I am restoring was pretty much rusted out when I got it. The entire sheetmetal body has been recreated (see below my left elbow), and the cast iron parts de-rusted, tarted up and painted. This is the ash drawer, made from scratch. Who needs a sheet metal bender. Just score it with a straight edge and an angle grinder, then bend it all to shape and add a few spot welds top hold it al together. A lick of heat resistant paint and it is just like a bought one.

That pretty much sums up my weekend. Lots of time in the workshop, which is fast becoming known as COCHQ (Crown Owners Club Headquarters). The stove I am restoring should be ready for assembly in a week or two.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.