Englishman in Bandung

By Vodkaman

Flower mantis

Creobroter gemmatus

I guess I overpaid yesterday because the blip monster came back today with some change, some great shots including more bee shots. 26 images to choose from, but this was a clear winner for me. Not much to say about it, except that you can clearly see how it catches its prey.

I found this impressive insect on a flower head, were it was almost invisible. It was only its swaying, hunting action that caught my eye. I took close to eighty shots before she got bored with me and flew off.

A few of you got the pop quiz yesterday, well done to you as you did better than me. I didn't see the mantis until I got home and then not until I was making my final selection. Perhaps if I had made the thumbnail of the mantis, as it was, I think the significance was lost through me messing around with you.

The butterfly did escape you will be pleased to hear!

Dave

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.