Sandcastle Holidays

By Sandcastle

Crail, Fife - this made me happy!

Glorious, glorious morning.

Was lazing in bed, catching up on a little Twitter action when I spotted a Tweet from a friend who runs Ardross Farm Shop, just down the coast near Elie. She'd seen marine activity from her window this morning, and had sent a Tweet which I happened to see.

A couple of exchanges later, she confirmed that there were dolphins (for indeed they were) heading back out towards the sea.

I've only seen dolphins once here before, so I was eager to dash out and see if I could spot them. But did I have time for a shower, and if so, would they be here before breakfast? What speed were they likely to travel the 9 miles or so at? All of this was running through my head, so I reckoned that I probably had time for a quick shower and some cereal before I headed down to the seashore.

I ran round the house telling the others that this might be a chance to spot some dolphins, and the news was greeted by varying degrees of enthusiasm, depending on how late each of the recipients had been up watching the Olympics last night.

After around an hour sitting patiently on one of the memorial benches by the boating pond, I was rewarded by the distant sight of a pod of dolphins swimming parallel to the coast and cresting every so often. I do have a shot which shows three or four fins and a glimpse of the Isle of May, which would position the sighting for you, but I am really happy with the fact that I managed to catch an image of one leaping out of the water. Joy!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.