Vista Park Pix

By VistaBob

Hilly Slope Adventure

An elderly man attempted to climb up the slope behind my house. He seemed to have gotten stuck about halfway up. Deciding to help, I drove my car to the top of the hill and took a pair of hiking sticks for him. He finally got to the top and I drove him home.

He was stuck because he tangled with a jumping cholla and he was trying to take out some of the hundred or so needles that were stuck in his bare legs. When i got him home, his wife came out and said she would have to get out the tweezers. John Henry (his first name) seemed to be affected with dementia and his wife had called his cell phone earlier and was concerned.

I said he was elderly and he seemed older than me. Actually he seemed to be proud  to be hiking at age 78. By comparion, I am 80 had nad just finished a 16 mile bike ride! So, everything is relative...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.