Country File

By marypot

Lewis

I teach at a school where once I was a pupil. I started there, age nine, back in 1979, and this man - Lewis - was one of my teachers. 23 years later, I returned as a teacher and Lewis was the Deputy Head. Since then he and I have become good friends, sharing so many laughs and gossiping lots about music, movies and the latest gadgets. But - even more importantly - he has always been there as a helpful and sympathetic ear whenever I needed him and however busy he was. This doesn't just apply to me, but also to all of my colleagues, the pupils at the school, their parents and anyone else who needed to sort anything out. And today was the last day we will work together. Lewis is retiring this week after 34 years as a teacher at our school. He is, quite simply, the embodiment of the school and all of us are wondering what on earth we are going to do without him. So here's to you, Lewis. Here's thanks for all your help, your support, laughs and kindness. And here's to a very long and very happy retirement!

By the way, the Lumix was the staff's leaving gift to Lewis, as he is a keen photographer, and YES I did give him the Blipfoto address so let's hope he'll sign up soon!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.