Stump Cross Caverns

Thursday 13th Oct 2016 (1510)

The plan was Embsay reservoir followed by Skipton. The weather didn't agree and poured down, so it was straight to Skipton Parish Church for some internal shots. I wasn't really in the mood for that and after a while the rain stopped and the sun came out again so Sue and I left the group and went for a walk in Skipton woods. In all the times I've been to Skipton I didn't know the woods were there. We met a very interesting and witty gentleman who seemed to adopt us for a while, we did have a good laugh with him. We enjoyed the walk through the woods but didn't take many photos. 

After a drink in the church cafe we escaped again and drove up to Thruscross reservoir, a place I have always loved. It was raining while we ate our sandwiches in the car but then stopped long enough for a quick walk across the dam and a few photos. 

Last night we planned ourselves a wet weather option at Stump Cross Caverns. They allowed us to take our tripods down and we were the only ones down there so we enjoyed about an hour and a half getting some lovely shots. This was our favourite (sorry Sue, I couldn't resist posting this, I look forward to seeing your composition too!) but I've also included an extra. 

We returned to base tired and muddy but we'd had a great afternoon!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.