HareBrain

By HareBrain

Boiling the wheat

I paid a visit to the Brewery in our town in my lunch hour today. The owners of the Brewery (who I know well) are tolerant of me dropping in from time to time, not only to their offices on business, but also to go inside the Brewery on brewing days to attempt to take some photos in the very warm and steamy atmosphere. In this particular shot the wheat is being boiled and the spent grain comes out of a spout at the bottom of the boil kettle and goes down a pipe into gratings where it is collected to be taken to a local farm to be fed to the pigs - no wonder the sausages from their Farm Shop taste so good! They tell me that the Spent Grain/ Brewers Grain is also good for growing mushrooms, esp. Shitake and also as fertiliser.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.