Aviemore to Mallaig (well, nearly)

This morning, was a planned lie in but I woke up naturally at 7am after another really deep sleep. The drive through to the west coast has been beautiful. In particular, the autumn leaves heading down Loch Laggan were something else. Sadly, there was not one good place to stop. I'll just have to remember the bright golden pennies hanging off dark, wet branches on the mountainsides, all in front of the moody, clearing skies.

On the way, my calf started cramping up which seemed to painfully pull a tendon behind my knee (I'm guessing the tendon is what I actually hurt given the length of time this is taking to heal), and pottering at the Glenfinnan visitor centre and having a short recce was probably the most painful it's been since I did it. It did cause me to half-wonder whether a cycling trip would have been better! I've massaged it, walked on it again, stretched it, taken ibuprofen and it doesn't now feel half as bad. I don't feel half as glum about it now either!

I've plumped for a wild camp tonight on the way to Mallaig looking over the water to Rum and Eigg.  It feels a quiet, safe place with coverage and a camper not too far away. The light on the water tonight with the still brooding skies has been fabulous and I'm thinking that may be my photo today (it is and this is it... my room with a view). It's got me pondering about spending a week just here, pottering. 

I'm sure I could.


(And then there's Northern Ireland from Stranraer (maybe a New Year trip with Rich?)... oodles off possibilities have opened up with a map evening.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.