Well Read

That is the name given to this Red Panda by the artist Paul Walsh. And indeed he is reading an excellent book, My Family, and Other Animals by Gerald Durrell. There is little of his usual sustenance here in Auckland, as most of his diet in the wild is bamboo. Mr Walsh Neglected to provide him with a drink. I spotted this painted box this afternoon on Richmond Road.

ADDITIONAL
It has been a right old day today. Last night when I got back from book club (later than usual) S asked if I had an upset gut after our dinner earlier. Because she did. As I didn't, we both thought it insignificant. But in the middle of the night the pain got severe, and she became very hypotensive, and we called an ambulance. After six hours in ED without a definitive diagnosis, and feeling better, S was discharged. A couple of hours later, they rang and said the surgeons had looked at the scan and she has appendicitis. Please come back. Back we went, and after waiting a couple more hours, she was told that surgery is deferred until tomorrow morning. I can think of many better ways to spend a day, but at least it's not as scary as what went through my mind at 0300 am.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.