carry on faffing

I read an article in The Luminous Landscape recently in praise of faffing.  Not just praise - go forth and faff yourself.  You have permission.  The serious point that the author was making was that most photographers want their photographs to be taken seriously by the photographic community.  Being taken seriously in this context means ‘no faffing’.  

But faffing = creativity.  I bet no one ever said to Van Gogh “you’ve over-saturated your sunflowers - they don’t really look that yellow”.  Or “your skies look a bit too black, Mr Adams”.

This Acer in our garden doesn’t really look this colour.  But every morning when I look out of the kitchen window I just think “wow”.  Compared with the drabness that surrounds it, it looks on fire.  So this blip is not what it really looks like - it’s how I imagine it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.