Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Fun in the Bull Ring

A friend suggested I took a break from what has become routine activity in my life today.  The suggestion was taken up so we popped into Birmingham for some 'retail therapy'.  It seems amazing how little we visit shops these days.  That is except for the supermarket; I still prefer walking around the aisles early on a Saturday morning, to receiving boxes delivered to the door.

We started in the Bull Ring, and of course I had a camera with me.  It's funny how you don't always realise what you've got in the way of images until you review them later.  I was convinced I would post another shot, now presented as an extra.  The father's expression is priceless and I felt comfortable posting the image as you can't identify the young girl on the bungee.  It's in some ways quite thought provoking that we must think this way in modern times.

There was a time when photography was not allowed in the shopping centre,  It always seemed ludicrous to try and control people in this way and I'm glad they have relaxed the restriction.  It was the first time we had been in Birmingham since the trams had started to travel down Corporation Street.  Suddenly it is such a wide avenue and seems so empty.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.