Art Quilter Pictures

By friedaquilter

Penicuik St. Mungo's graveyard

The tower is all that remains of the pre-Reformation St. Mungo's church in Penicuik. The entrance is boarded up and apparently the building is dangerous to enter. But it still looks beautiful. I always pop into Penicuik's graveyard whenever I visit my dentist across the road, looking for an opportunity to take a picture of the tower but thus far I never managed to do so in sunshine. Today was the day. It might have been very windy but that all important light was there. I also loved to see the amazing amount of wild flowers and grasses that have occupied the little building in front, non of which had been present in the winter months. The yellow ragwort did wonderful for the resulting picture.
More pictures here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.