Particles & Waves

By EdwardFenner

Zeiss Ikon - an extinct species

I have been meaning to blip this projector for ages. I was reminded by my failed attempt last weekend to visit the Highlands Cinema Museum in Kinmount, Ontario and its outstanding collection of over 100 years of movie projectors (and other cool things). Films, that is movies on actual strips of film, become extinct at the end of 2012 (more or less). Hollywood is not supporting that format any more. Digital is now king. A casualty - a massive casualty - are small town cinemas all over Canada and the USA (and probably elsewhere). Convert or die. Most have chosen death. It is just not profitable in most small towns to convert to digital. How sad. The smaller, older cinemas are almost always niftier than modern, soul-less monsterplexes. I will miss them.

This relic sits in the former ticket booth of the Nat Taylor Cinema at York University in Toronto. I'm not sure if this is a 16mm, 35mm, or a 70mm device nor do I know if it was used here or is a relic of one of Toronto's defunct movie palaces of old. I'm not sure if I have seen a movie here but I did attend a guest visit and talk by author Umbero Eco here a few years ago.

The cinema is named after Canada's movie mogul and inventor of the multiplex, Nat Taylor.

More.

I have also just back-blipped a few days worth in case you are interested.

This is the first photo I've blipped using my new Motorola XT615 mobile phone (listed below).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.